Arab World


13. Palestine



Occupied Palestinian Territories
West Bank and Gaza




The International Year Book and Statesmen's Who's Who. Ed. Jennifer Dilworth, Megan Stuart-Jones. Leiden: Brill Publisher, 2010. Section: States of the World, s.v. 'Occupied Palestinian Territories'..

The Occupied Palestinian Territories refers to the West Bank and the Gaza Strip.
Capital: East Jerusalem (although the status of Jerusalem is still under discussion) (Population estimate: 360,000).
Administrative Capital: Gaza City (Population estimate: 400,000).
Head of State: Mahmoud Abbas (President)
National Flag: Three horizontal stripes - black, white and green - with a red triangle with its base at the hoist (Palestinian National Authority flag).

Copyright © 2010 Koninklijke Brill NV. For more information please visit

This project has been funded with support from the European Commission. This publication reflects the views only of the author, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.
    Project     Legal notice     Press     Contact
Copyright 2011 by learningarabic